Is Your Sword in the Stone?

photoMy dad is a preacher, but for as long as I can remember, he has had various jobs in construction. Being that he has worked with his hands so long, he is rather familiar with his tools. When my dad picks up his hammer, it becomes an extension of his hand. This is so true, that one time he proceeded to hammer in a nail using the claw end of the hammer without even noticing it. When I got my first framing hammer, I tried to follow my dad’s example, and use it like he did. It did not go so well, as my fingertips can attest to. While I wanted to be able to use a hammer like my dad, I couldn’t because he had so much more experience than me.

In Ephesians 6:17, Paul tells the Ephesians brothers to take up the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. In antiquity, the sword was the primary offensive weapon used by soldiers. The sword was the soldier’s tools, his means of accomplishing his work, and preserving his life.

You may be wondering where all this is going. Well, let me ask you a question. How does your Bible feel in your hands? Not literally, but how comfortable is it for you to use it? Soldiers had to be comfortable with their swords because it was the tool of their trade. My dad is comfortable with his hammer because it is his tool. As christians, the Bible is our tool; how comfortable are we with it? I think sometimes, that we have a tendency to only really study our Bible during Sunday morning Bible class. If we are, we are not going to get very comfortable using our Bible. I think it’s time for us to pull our swords out of the stone, and get comfortable with them. The better we know them, the better servants we will be for God.

Leave a Reply

